Houghton Regis & Central Bedfordshire Election Results 2019

Voters across Central Bedfordshire have elected a new council made up of 41 Conservative councillors, 13 Independents, three Liberal Democrats, one Labour councillor and one UK Independence Party councillor. 

The previous CBC administration was made up of 52 Conservatives, four Independent councillors, two Labour councillors and one Liberal Democrat.

The declaration of results at Central Bedfordshire Council’s headquarters in Priory House, Chicksands, followed an election which saw 201 candidates standing for 59 seats.

Susan Goodchild, Yvonne Farrell, Toni Ryan, Pat Hamill - CBC councillors for 2019-2023
Here in Houghton Regis, Toni Ryan retained her seat for Labour in Parkside, Susan Goodchild retained her seat for the Liberal Democrats in Houghton Hall and is joined by fellow Liberal Democrat Yvonne Farrell, while Pat Hamill took Tithe Farm for UKIP.

Central Bedfordshire Council’s Chief Executive and Returning Officer, Richard Carr, welcomed the new Council. He said: "As well as congratulating our newly elected Members, I would also like to thank the hundreds of polling and count staff who have supported these elections. Our elections team have done a fantastic job."

Announcements about which councillors will take up different positions on Central Bedfordshire Council, including appointments to the Executive and the role of Council Chairman, will be made at the Annual Meeting, which will take place at Priory House on Thursday, 16 May, starting at 6.30pm.

Counting also took place yesterday (3 May) for town and parish councils in many areas across Central Bedfordshire. Of those, 67 were uncontested.

The elected Councillors for Houghton Regis Town are:
David Abbott, Conservative, Tithe Farm
Jimmy Carroll, Independent - Parkside
Clare Copleston, Labour Party - Parkside
Don Dixon-Wilkinson, Labour Party - Parkside
Yvonne Farrell, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
Susan Goodchild, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
David Jones, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
Martin Kennedy, Labour Party- Tithe Farm
Tracey McMahon, Independent - Tithe Farm
Ray Morgan, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
Susan Thorne, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
Abby Slough, Labour Party - Tithe Farm
Ken Wattingham, Liberal Democrat - Houghton Hall
Tim Welch, Labour Party - Parkside

For the full election results for Central Bedfordshire, visit www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/cbcresults

For the full election results for town and Parish councils,


Recently Popular

Barratt Homes to Build 300 units at Linmere Houghton Regis

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Riders on Bikes Could Help with House Robbery in Houghton Regis

100th Cannabis Factory Intercepted By Bedfordshire Police

Houghton Regis Chalk Pit Youth Afternoon With Controlled Bonfire and A Chance to Learn New Environmental Skills 17 Feb

Suspension of Council Garden Waste Collections

Support for Vulnerable Children & Families this Half Term

More Popular Stories

Lidl Plans For 1.2million sq ft Regional Distribution Centre

Angry Resident Wants Peace Back as Chalk Pit Tourism Takes Off

L&D Hospital Mani Car Park Closes From 13 July - Bigger Car Park To Be Built

A New Secondary School For Houghton Regis

Consultation on New Secondary School in Houghton Regis

Bidwell Heights - Go Ahead for New Build Despite Crime Concerns

Houghton Regis Academy Closure - Public Meeting 10 March

Plans For 66 bed care Home, Nursery & Shops at Lower Thorn Village

Police Appeal After Man Robbed in Houghton Regis

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Houghton Regis local news, events, council news, going on in Houghton Regis and nearby villages, Bedfordshire, UK. Editor Alan Winter


Houghton Regis News Desk

Contact HRND
HRND on Facebook
Facebook Archive
HR Clubs & Societies
Fix My Street
Story Index
HRND Pinterest
HRND on Twitter
Other Group Sites
Luton News Desk
Dunstable News Desk
Editors Blog
More Group Links