Call For Candidates In By-Election 3rd May — Houghton Hall

A vacancy exists for a seat on the Houghton Regis Town Council in Houghton Hall ward. If more than one candidate is declared the contest will take place on 3rd May 2017. The official Notice of Election was dated today, 27th March 2018.

Any nominations must be completed and delivered by 4pm Friday 6th April 2018.

Postal vote applications or cancellations need to be in by 5pm on 18th April 2018.

Proxy vote applications need to be in by 5pm on 25th April 2018.

The address for all correspondence is Electoral Registration Officer, Priory House, Monks Walk, Chicksands, Shefford, Bedfordshire, SG17 5TQ.

The cost of the election to the public purse has been put at £2000 per polling station (estimated figures provided by the Returning Officer at Central Beds Council). Houghton Hall normally has 5 polling stations. In by-elections, some polling stations may be consolidated to reduce costs. At last night's Town Council meeting, it was announced by the Town Clerk that two polling stations normally used would be unavailable — the Memorial Hall and All Saints School —  but it had been suggested that Houghton Regis Primary School could double up with the cost of a Portakabin hire at around £1500 being bourne by the Town Council. To save on costs, councillors voted not to pay out an estimated £1900 on polling cards.

Houghton Hall ward sends 6 out of 14 of the town's representatives to the Town Council. The ward covers roads in diverse places from Frogmore Road, through to Longbrooke, Woodlands Avenue, Manor Park, St Michaels Avenue, Plaiters Way, Farriers Way, Houghton Road, and Sewell Lane.

There are in the order of 6200 registered voters in Houghton Hall. At the last by-election here, in October 2016, just 583 votes were cast with a turnout of 9.57% (*).

The present five town councillors for Houghton Hall are:
Laura Ellaway, elected Liberal Democrat in 2015, switched to Independent in 2017.
Chris Slough elected Labour in 2015.
Sue Thorne elected Liberal Democrat in 2015.
Ken Wattingham elected Liberal Democrat in 2015.
Tim Welch elected Liberal Democrat in 2016, switched to Labour in 2017.

tap/click to enlarge image:

The full notice is reproduced above. Please refer to the official notice and do not rely on the words in this article.


Recently Popular

Ashberry Homes New Showhome Open At Bidwell

New TV Documentary to Feature Whipsnade Zoo

CBC Urge Residents to Complete Economic Survey

First Meeting of Chief Constable's New Advisory Panel

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Take the Walking Challenge in September's Walking Festival !

Latest Figures: Government Support for Self-employed South West Bedfordshire

More Popular Stories

Lidl Plans For 1.2million sq ft Regional Distribution Centre

Angry Resident Wants Peace Back as Chalk Pit Tourism Takes Off

L&D Hospital Mani Car Park Closes From 13 July - Bigger Car Park To Be Built

Consultation on New Secondary School in Houghton Regis

Bidwell Heights - Go Ahead for New Build Despite Crime Concerns

Houghton Regis Academy Closure - Public Meeting 10 March

Plans For 66 bed care Home, Nursery & Shops at Lower Thorn Village

Police Appeal After Man Robbed in Houghton Regis

Amazon Prime Scam Has Cost Victims More Than £1m

Supermarket Responds to Criticism that Shelves & Fridges were Empty

Houghton Regis local news, events, council news, going on in Houghton Regis and nearby villages, Bedfordshire, UK. Editor Alan Winter


Houghton Regis News Desk

Contact HRND
HRND on Facebook
Facebook Archive
HR Clubs & Societies
Fix My Street
Story Index
HRND Pinterest
HRND on Twitter
Other Group Sites
Luton News Desk
Dunstable News Desk
Editors Blog
More Group Links