New Years Honours - 2 CBE's and 4 MBE's for Bedfordshire

In the Queen’s New Year’s honours list 2017 there are 2 CBE's and 4 MBE's for people in Bedfordshire.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • Kim Daniel BROMLEY-DERRY Chief Executive, London Borough of Newham. For services to Local Government. (Bedfordshire).
  • Alfred Henry HITCHCOCK, QPM Chief Constable, Ministry of Defence Police. For services to Defence and Policing. (Bedfordshire)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Tony FENWICK Co-Chair, School's Out. For services to Equality in the Education Sector.(Luton, Bedfordshire)

  • Michael GRANT For services to Conservation and the community in Billington, Bedfordshire.(Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire)

  • Frederick Nigel SPARROW For services to the community in Clapham, Bedfordshire.(Bedfordshire)

  • Anthony Peter WILSON Director, AECOM. For services to Building and Engineering.(Dunstable, Bedfordshire)

In total 1,197 people have received an award. This year’s honours are the most diverse ever. In the almost 100-year history of the Order of the British Empire there has never been a greater number of individuals from a Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) background. Awards include:

  • a damehood for Professor Elizabeth Anionwu, Emeritus Professor of Nursing, for services to nursing and the Mary Seacole Statue Appeal
  • a knighthood for Professor Shankar Balasubramanian, Herchel Smith Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Cambridge
  • a CBE for Professor Anita Thapar, Clinical Professor, Institute of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, Cardiff University
  • a CBE for Cecilia Anim, President, Royal College of Nursing
  • a CBE for Professor Guang-Zhong Yang, Director, Hamlyn Centre for Robotic Surgery

Following Team GB’s record breaking success in Rio at the Olympics and Paralympics, the list of awards includes:

  • a knighthood for Mo Farah for services to athletics
  • a knighthood for Andy Murray for services to tennis and charity
  • a knighthood for Lee Pearson for services to equestrianism
  • a damehood for Katherine Grainger, the first female Olympian to win 5 medals at 5 games, for services to rowing and charity
  • a damehood for Jessica Ennis-Hill for services to athletics
  • CBEs for the Olympic golden couple and recently married Jason Kenny and Laura Kenny (nee Trott), for services to cycling
The full list of honours can be found on GOV.UK

Honours lists are published at New Year and on The Queen’s official birthday in June. Find out more about the honours and how to nominate someone for an award.


Recently Popular

Town Council to Consider Working From Home More Permanently

New TV Documentary to Feature Whipsnade Zoo

First Meeting of Chief Constable's New Advisory Panel

Ashberry Homes New Showhome Open At Bidwell

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Take the Walking Challenge in September's Walking Festival !

CBC Urge Residents to Complete Economic Survey

More Popular Stories

Lidl Plans For 1.2million sq ft Regional Distribution Centre

Angry Resident Wants Peace Back as Chalk Pit Tourism Takes Off

L&D Hospital Mani Car Park Closes From 13 July - Bigger Car Park To Be Built

Consultation on New Secondary School in Houghton Regis

Bidwell Heights - Go Ahead for New Build Despite Crime Concerns

Houghton Regis Academy Closure - Public Meeting 10 March

Plans For 66 bed care Home, Nursery & Shops at Lower Thorn Village

Police Appeal After Man Robbed in Houghton Regis

Amazon Prime Scam Has Cost Victims More Than £1m

Supermarket Responds to Criticism that Shelves & Fridges were Empty

Houghton Regis local news, events, council news, going on in Houghton Regis and nearby villages, Bedfordshire, UK. Editor Alan Winter


Houghton Regis News Desk

Contact HRND
HRND on Facebook
Facebook Archive
HR Clubs & Societies
Fix My Street
Story Index
HRND Pinterest
HRND on Twitter
Other Group Sites
Luton News Desk
Dunstable News Desk
Editors Blog
More Group Links