Proposed Constituency Boundaries

The Boundary Commission for England yesterday revealed revised proposals for constituency boundaries.  Under the proposals Houghton Regis  would be in "South West Bedfordshire CC", and split apart from Dunstable.

The South West Bedfordshire constituency would include Marston, Cranfield, Woburn and Harlington, Toddington, Leighton Buzzard, Whipsnade, Studham, Flitwick, Harlington, and Houghton Regis (total electorate 80,146).

Dunstable would become part of "Luton North and Dunstable BC", and include Bramingham, Icknield (Luton), Limbury, Northwell, Sundon Park, Leagrave, Chalney, Lewsey, Icknield (Dunstable), Dunstable Downs, Watling, and Northfields (total electorate 78,957).

The "Mid Bedfordshire and Harpenden CC" would include parts of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire, including such places a s Wheathampstead and Caddington (total electorate 78,055).

But there is much doubt over whether or not the government will proceed with these suggested changes due to differences of opinion within the coalition parties in Government.
The public are invited to "Have Your Say" on the proposals via the boundary commission's web site.


Recently Popular

Houghton Regis Chalk Pit Maintenance Money Now Available

Crossers Spark Concern For Safety At Blue Waters Woodland

Suspension of Council Garden Waste Collections

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Green Flag Accreditation for Local Parks - Including Houghton Hall Park

What Do Think About Countryside Sites Operated by CBC?

Houghton Regis Chalk Pit Youth Afternoon With Controlled Bonfire and A Chance to Learn New Environmental Skills 17 Feb

More Popular Stories

Lidl Plans For 1.2million sq ft Regional Distribution Centre

Angry Resident Wants Peace Back as Chalk Pit Tourism Takes Off

L&D Hospital Mani Car Park Closes From 13 July - Bigger Car Park To Be Built

A New Secondary School For Houghton Regis

Consultation on New Secondary School in Houghton Regis

Bidwell Heights - Go Ahead for New Build Despite Crime Concerns

Houghton Regis Academy Closure - Public Meeting 10 March

Plans For 66 bed care Home, Nursery & Shops at Lower Thorn Village

Police Appeal After Man Robbed in Houghton Regis

Give blood during the Easter holidays

Houghton Regis local news, events, council news, going on in Houghton Regis and nearby villages, Bedfordshire, UK. Editor Alan Winter


Houghton Regis News Desk

Contact HRND
HRND on Facebook
Facebook Archive
HR Clubs & Societies
Fix My Street
Story Index
HRND Pinterest
HRND on Twitter
Other Group Sites
Luton News Desk
Dunstable News Desk
Editors Blog
More Group Links